Like most websites, we use own and third party cookies for analytical purposes and to show you personalised advertising or based on your browsing habits.
Generally, the information does not directly identify you, but can provide you with a more personalised web experience. Because we respect your right to privacy, you may choose not to allow us to use certain cookies. However, blocking some types of cookies may affect your experience on the site and the services we can offer.
One of the ways to prohibit access to a user on Facebook is to block their permissions. If you want to limit your profile to someone, we will explain how to block someone on Facebook.
From Facebook web
You have two options to block someone from the Facebook web: from the user’s profile, or your settings.
✅ From the user’s profile:
Write the name of the user you want to block or click on their name. From their bio, tap on the three-dot button next to it, and click “block”.
At that moment, Facebook alerts you through a pop-up window, clarifying what it means to block a user. If you confirm it, this action will take place immediately.
✅ From settings:
This method is somewhat more complex but allows you to block multiple users simultaneously. While from the profile you can only block the user you are seeing.
Go to Settings and Privacy> Settings and then Blocking in the menu on the left. In the ‘Manage Blocking’ section, write who you want to block and click on block or ‘enter’ on the keyboard.
You will see the results matching the username you entered and the block button on the right in a pop-up window. Click on it. Done!
From Facebook app
Blocking someone on Facebook from the mobile app is similar to the web. First, search for the user and follow the steps from their profile.
When you’ve reached the user, tap on the three-dot button and click on block. Confirm this action, and the user will no longer access your profile.
Two things you should know about blocking on Facebook:
▶️ ️If you want to block someone from your company page, you can also do it from the wall. If the user has left a comment on a post, click on the three dots and ban the user. You can also hide their response.
▶️ ️If you don’t want to block someone, you have the option of unfollowing a user. In this case, your friendship remains on Facebook, but the content you share on the social network will not appear in their feed.
💡Does the user know that they have been blocked?
Under no circumstances will Facebook notify the user that you have blocked them. They won’t realize unless they try to enter your profile. At that moment, a message will appear that the content is not available.
What happens when you block someone on Facebook?
Before making the final decision to block someone on Facebook, we recommend reviewing the consequences.
What happens when you deny a user access to your profile?
Once you block a user on Facebook, they will not be able to interact with you directly: neither see your post in your feed, tag you in photos, posts or invite you to events.
They won’t be able to access a private conversation with you through Facebook Messenger.
When you block someone, you also stop them from adding you as a friend. This occurs when the user was not a friend before. In that case, it will cease to be and will not be able to add you again until you unlock it.
How to know if I have been blocked on Facebook
As we have mentioned before, Facebook will not send you any notification that you have been blocked. Therefore, how do you know if you have been blocked on Facebook?
Check these Facebook sections to find out:
- Friends list: Facebook has a search engine in your contact list. If a user does not appear, they may have blocked you.
- The search engine: if you search for the user through the Facebook search engine and they don’t appear in the list, they may have blocked you. However, they also could have deleted their profile.
You can make sure by searching for the user from a profile other than yours. If it appears, it means that they have blocked you.
Now you know how to block someone on Facebook and how to discover whether they have blocked you or not.
Have you already started working on your content on Facebook? If not, Metricool’s Facebook marketing guide will suit you perfectly.