Like most websites, we use own and third party cookies for analytical purposes and to show you personalised advertising or based on your browsing habits.
Generally, the information does not directly identify you, but can provide you with a more personalised web experience. Because we respect your right to privacy, you may choose not to allow us to use certain cookies. However, blocking some types of cookies may affect your experience on the site and the services we can offer.
Deleting your LinkedIn account means permanently deleting your profile and all the information you have shared.
Are you determined to leave your LinkedIn account behind? If you have already made your mind, keep reading.
1 Go to the ‘me’ option
You can find the ‘me’ button in the upper right corner of the LinkedIn page.
2 Choose the Settings & Privacy option
On this page, you can configure everything related to your LinkedIn account.
3 Tap account management
First, click on Account Preferences and then on Account Management.
4 Click Change
When you click Change, LinkedIn takes you to a page before your definitive goodbye, where you are asked about the reason for closing your account.
5 Tap Next
If you agree to leave LinkedIn, you just have to enter your password to confirm your identity, and it is you who deletes the account. Then click on Close Account.
You can also delete your account from the iOS or Android app by clicking Settings, which you’ll find in your profile picture.
Consequences of deleting your LinkedIn account
Pay attention to the following points to know what happens to your LinkedIn profile and all your shared information after you close your account.
What can you lose by deleting your account?
❌ You lose the content of your profile.
Deleting your profile removes the messages you have received and the recommendations written and obtained or your added validations.
❌ You won’t have access to your information.
When you delete your profile, you will not be able to access any information on your profile: your contacts, activity, or experience that you had added.
❌ Your profile disappears.
If you delete your profile, no user can access it. It is not available on LinkedIn. On the other hand, they can temporarily find you through search engines, such as Google or Bing.
Do you have a premium account on LinkedIn or a group?
If so, you have to close this premium subscription to delete the basic LinkedIn account.
Download your LinkedIn profile data before deleting it
If you close your account, you will lose all the LinkedIn information you have added and collected over the years.
For this reason, LinkedIn offers you the possibility of downloading this data from your computer before deleting your account.
You can do it in Settings, Data Privacy, and then tap on How LinkedIn uses your data: ‘Get a copy of your data’.
LinkedIn allows you to download a file with specific information, articles, contacts, etc., or all the information at once. Depending on what you choose, it will take to access the data more or less time.
Can you recover your deleted LinkedIn account?
If you have changed your mind and want to come back to LinkedIn, you can still do it… As long as you deleted your account no more than 14 days ago.
The process is simple, you just have to log in with your account, and it resets automatically.
If you reopen it, you can use your profile again, but the platform cannot recover some data:
❌ The validations or recommendations that you have received.
❌ Those invitations that you had pending
❌ The content that you followed on the social network.
❌ The groups in which you participated.
As you can see, you can make a “temporary” withdrawal from LinkedIn, but you lose your account information. In any case, you already know how to delete a LinkedIn account step by step and what it means for your content.
You can learn more about LinkedIn on this marketing guide on LinkedIn by Metricool.