Restrict on Instagram

Carlos Bravo
28 July, 2021

If you are a social media manager or have an online business presence, it is possible that on more than one occasion you have come across a troll, a user that leaves unwanted comments on your posts. Right? 

An action you can take to solve this problem is to restrict on Instagram, and this is what we are going to talk about in this post.

What does restricted mean on Instagram?

By restricting an account on Instagram, you are limiting their access to your profile. 

This means they do not have the same opportunities to interact with you, as a user that you have not restricted.

Now you know what it means to restrict someone on Instagram, but what does this decision mean for the unwanted user?

What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?

The first thing you must know is that if you decide to restrict an account on Instagram, the app will not notify the user that you have limited their activity. 

The person you have decided to restrict will not know you have made this decision regarding their account. 

And what comes with this restriction?

Comments are not public 

While an unrestricted user can comment on anything you post, a comment from a restricted user is not visible to everyone else.

The only people who can see it is you, as the owner of the account, and the restricted user that has commented. Although, if you want to, you can make it visible to everyone else.

Activity is private

When you restrict an Instagram account, they can continue seeing the stories you post, like anyone else.

However, although they can respond to your story, they cannot see if you are online or if you have read the messages that they have sent you. Similarly, their reactions to your stories would appear in your message request box, rather than in your direct message box.

Do you want to restrict on Instagram but don’t know how? Keep reading!

How to restrict on Instagram

The option to restrict Instagram accounts is available to every user. You can do this in two different ways, but don’t worry, we will explain them easily to you!

Restricting a user through their profile

The first and most simple way to limit the activity of a user is to do it through their own profile. 

Just follow the steps!

restrict on instagram

1 Open your Instagram account

Remember to open the account that you want to restrict the user from.

2 Go to their profile

Go find their profile either through the search option or by going through your followers.

3 Click on ‘···’

The button with the three dots is at the top-right of their profile. Click on it and Instagram will offer you all the available options.

4 Choose ‘Restrict’

The final step is to press Restrict, which is the first option you’ll see. 

Instagram will confirm that you have restricted this user. 

Restricting a user through Settings

The other way to limit an Instagram account is to do it through your account settings.

restrict on instagram

1 Go into ‘Settings’ in your account

You will find this section on your profile. Click on the three horizontal lines at the top-right.

2 Click on ‘Privacy’

Here you can edit everything related to your account, but what we are interested in at the moment is the Privacy button.

3 Choose ‘Restricted Accounts‘

In this section, you can see the accounts that are restricted from your profile. If you have not restricted any, this section will be empty.

4 Search for the profile you want to restrict

Here there is a search bar to find the user you want to restrict access to.

Simply search their name and press the ‘Restrict’ button to the right of their name.

How to remove the restrictions from an Instagram account

To go back to normal with a restricted account, all you have to do is follow the same steps we went through earlier. 

Instead of the ‘Restrict’ button, you will see ‘Cancel restriction’.

Differences between restricting and blocking

Despite both options mean limiting a user’s access to our Instagram account, it is important to point out the differences between restricting and blocking. 

What’s exactly the difference between them?

️ Access to your account.

This is the main difference between blocking and restricting. When you restrict an account, the user can still follow your profile and see everything you share without any problems. 

While blocking a user means you “prohibit” them from seeing any part of your profile, such as the posts you upload, your stories, or any content from your Reels.

️ Interaction with your profile.

As we said earlier, users that you have restricted can still comment on your posts, but only you and the user can see it. It is not public.

At least they can interact with your content. When you block a user, they cannot like your content, they cannot respond to your stories, nor comment on anything you post.

️ Knowing what has happened.

When you restrict an account, the user won’t know because their Instagram feed and access look the exact same. However, when you block someone, they do not have access to anything, not even through tagged photos of you. 

Because of this, it is likely that if it was an account you interacted with quite a lot, they will suspect that you have blocked them.

What other options are there to limit content to certain users?

If you are not willing to block or restrict an Instagram account, you can also hide your story from certain users, or report an account if you feel it necessary.

Now you know how to restrict on Instagram if you ever need to use it, regardless of whether you have a personal account, business account or you are a content creator.

Want to start your Instagram business strategy? This guide will become your best friend!

Carlos Bravo

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend